New Year, New Specials

One of my favourite things about Netflix is their penchant for releasing great comedy specials. From classics like Bill Hicks’ Sane Man, to Dave Chapelle’s return, Netflix is making comedy specials relevant again.

The best part about Netflix comedy specials is that they provide a variety of different comedians for viewers to watch without having to watch segments or single bits like is done on YouTube.

Netflix has exposed me to comedians I had never heard of prior to watching their specials. I had never seen a single Anthony Jeselnik video prior to Netflix. After watching his special, I sought out more of his dark, brooding comedy online. It’s the same with Tom Segura. After I watched his specials, I started to watch his stand-up and podcast appearances.

Most importantly, Netflix specials are great for comedians for the same reasons I listed above. Norm Macdonald’s special has opened up his comedy to an entire generation of young adults. The world needs Norm, and who knows, he might need the cash these days (I doubt Mike Tyson Mysteries provides enough money for him to live off of).

So, if you have Netflix, check out some of the standup specials on there. You might find someone funny to follow up on later.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment